Farmhouse Cluster

A farmhouse cluster is a subdivision of up to six lots, accessed by a private drive, located in the Rural or Transitional Residential Zoning Districts within the Town of Huntersville.

Farmhouse Clusters are subdivisions with unique provisions that include, but are not limited to:

  • A minimum project area of 10 acres.
  • Two farmhouse cluster developments are permitted on 20 acres, with special conditions.
  • At least 50% of the project area shall be designated as open space.
  • A minimum of 30 feet of road frontage on a public road either by fee simple ownership or exclusive easement is required.
  • Private drives/streets are allowed within farmhouse clusters, but they must be constructed to the standards of the Town Public Works Department. Please refer to the Town Engineering/Public Works Standards for details.
  • Gates are permitted for farmhouse cluster developments.
  • An association of all property owners shall be established for maintenance of all commonly held spaces. Where there are no common open spaces, except for a shared driveway or private street, a legally binding shared driveway and/or private street use and maintenance agreement shall be filed with the Mecklenburg County Register of Deeds Office.

Please contact the Town of Huntersville Planning Department (704-875-7000) if you would like to learn more about development requirements for farmhouse clusters.

Helpful Documents


Zoning Ordinance - Article 3.2.1 and Article 7.13

Engineering Land Development - Manuals, Review, and Inspections